Stop the Anti-Housing Initiative - Decline to Sign

As your friends and neighbors, we urge you **not** to sign the "City of Eureka Housing for All and Downtown Vitality Initiative." Despite its name, the initiative would stop the construction of affordable housing and would put the city in legal jeopardy, risking millions of dollars of state grant funding. Eureka deserves better.

Eureka faces a housing affordability crisis. Under state law, Eureka is required to plan for housing construction through its "Housing Element," a component of its larger General Plan. The Housing Element outlines the strategies the city will undertake to facilitate new housing construction and is approved by the California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD). The City of Eureka developed in partnership with HCD a program to release publicly-owned lands for housing. Through working with non-profit housing developers, including the Wiyot Tribe, Eureka is on track to build 199 new apartments—if the proposed initiative doesn't stop the city first.

Invalidate Housing Element: The initiative would amend Eureka's General Plan to create two new "overlay" zones. The first overlay zone would stop the development of apartments on downtown parking lots by prohibiting the loss of *any* parking through redevelopment of the sites, functionally making housing construction impossible on these sites. The second overlay zone would rezone the former site of Jacobs Middle School and would allow dense multifamily development on this site. This "upzone" is misleading as well, as Eureka does not control the former Jacobs campus, Eureka City Schools has declined an offer by the City to purchase the site, and Eureka City Schools is in negotiations with the California Highway Patrol to purchase and develop the site.

Loss of Affordable Housing: The proposed initiative would stop the development of five lots already approved for affordable housing development. In total, the initiative would threaten the construction of at least 199 total units. Additionally, the initiative would prohibit the development of the Eureka Regional Transit and Housing Center (EaRTH Center), a mass transit hub paired with apartments for healthcare workers and other affordable housing.

Legal Chaos: The initiative would throw the city into legal chaos by invalidating its Housing Element. Because the Housing Element is a core component of the Eureka's General Plan, that central governing document might also be voided. In turn, Eureka could lose its power to regulate local land use decisions until a costly and thorough amendment process can be completed.

Loss of Grant Funding: By invalidating the Housing Element, Eureka would lose out on substantial grant funding that it regularly relies upon for affordable housing, city planning, and mass transit.

If you are approached by a signature gatherer, politely decline to sign the anti-housing initiative. If you have signed the initiative by accident, <u>please complete this form</u> and

return it to Humboldt County Elections to remove your name from the petition. If you would like to join your name to the growing list of friends and neighbors concerned about this initiative, <u>please complete this form</u>.

Susan Seaman Natalie Arroyo **Deborah Dukes** Aubrey Richeson Jenna Catsos Jasmin Segura Genevieve Serna Gary Falxa Brian Heaton Cathy Chandler-Klein Randy Terra Maggie Kraft Althea Christensen G. Mario Fernandez Leslie Castellano Desiree Davenport Tory Starr Evan Morden **Beth Herrmann** Emily Sinkhorn Stevie Luther Caroline Griffith Alexander Farrell Tom Arnall Solomon Everta Linda Atkins Tom Wheeler Kathy Srabian Paul Hilton Patti Rose David Cobb Maxwell Despard Julie Ryan Marla Joy Ruthi Engelke Fhyre Phoenix Kathleen Kelcey Meredith Maier **Claire Perricelli**

Patricia Thomas **Robin Praszker** Joseph Carter **Derek Howard** Erin Kelly Jenn Taylor Carolan Raleigh-Halsing Charis Arlett Jason Lopiccolo Kavla DeCarli **Tess Yinger Bob Service** Pam Service Hannah Atwood Kelly Johnson Aimee Hennessy Amber Shows Kim Bergel Leila Roberts Esther Trosow Mike Cipra Erin Degenstein Alicia Hamann Mary Hurley Mary Keehn Peter LaVallee Kathleen Moxon Mary Kate Durkee **Rio McFarland** Ron Kuhnel James Kloor Joel Ziegler Julie Fulkerson Lissie Rydz Jonny Maiullo Kathy Johanson Aisha Cervantes-Cissna Peggy Dickinson Miranda de Silva

Nancy LaVallee Randy Carrico Nancy M. Arroyo Pat Kanzler Libby Maynard Tina Garsen Colin Fiske William Childs Mary Ruffcorn-Barragan Sabrina Grandia Geoffrey Robinson **Kimberley White** Helene Rouvier Jerry Koval Luis Chabolla Jan Rowen George Clark Kyoko Clark Jody Himango Meredyth Phillips Todd Rowe **Bonnie Mesinger** Jeremiah Webb